Timing is everything..

It’s that time of the year again…

WRESTLEMANIA time!

I really don’t follow wrestling anymore since I grew up but every now and then I check to see what’s going on with the WWE and its storylines. I also try to check out at least two ppvs, the Royal Rumble and the upcoming, Wrestlemania.

When Royal Rumble comes around in January, you start to feel the Wrestlemania atmosphere, as the storylines all led to Wrestlemania, including the Royal Rumble winner, who chooses his opponent. Royal Rumble is always fun because its just one big battle royal with some great spots and interesting cameos. Wrestlemania is just a tradition. Something that is big, because they often set something memorable; hopefully this year is the same.

In order to get ready for the big event next weekend I am watching the older Wrestlemanias. So far I have watched parts of Wrestlemania 17 and 23 They are some matches that are gems, that are exciting and I can watch all the time, for example, from those Wrestlemanias mentioned, the Money in the Bank match from WM 23, the TLC match between the Hardyz, the Dudleys and Edge and Christian and the classic The Rock vs. Stone Cold Steve Austin from WM 17.

The intro alone to Rock vs. SCSA from WM 17 still gets me excited and gives me chills. It brings back memories of my childhood when wrestling was dope. Back when the WWE was the WWF. Back when there was the Attitude Era. “My Way” by Limp Bizkit is perfect for the intro/hype because they are two of the best wrestlers I have seen in my era. Both had a “my way” approach in their characters, both of them did whatever they wanted, great charisma from each one.

They were the top two faces/draws/stars back in 2001. You where either a Rock fan or a SCSA fan, sometimes a fan of both but not when they wrestled one another. However, when they got together, you didn’t really know back then but you were in for a treat, a great match by them.

The other Wrestlemanias also had great matches. Some matches that I consider great matches (not including those previously mention but they are great matches) are: Undertaker vs. HBK from WM 25 and WM 26; The Rock vs. Hulk Hogan from WM 18; all the Money in the Bank matches; Vince vs. Shane McMahon from WM 17; Edge vs. Mick Foley, and Rey vs. Kurt Angle vs. Randy Orton from WM 22; The Rock vs. SCSA from WM 19 etc. These are just some Wrestlemania matches that contain something memorable, in my opinion, that make them watchable, every year, to anticipate the current year’s Wrestlemania.

Anyways, I am about to zone out and watch parts of WM 24 to call it a night. This card also had gems on it including Ric Flair’s retirement match against HBK that was very emotional and the amazing Money in the Bank ladder match.

Wrestlemania 28, less than seven days away, can’t wait, hopefully something memorable happens…

Leave a Reply

