WrestleMania Time!

wm29

It’s that time of the year, WrestleMania time! Every year, for the past six years, I have made it a tradition to tune into that year’s WrestleMania even if I have no idea what the storylines are. By watching WrestleMania, I am reminded/relive my childhood. Growing up I was a big fan of the WWF. I would watch it vividly but not critically like I do now.

To pump myself up for this year’s WrestleMania, that is honestly, not too intriguing but will watch anyways. CM Punk versus Undertaker is the only match I care for, the rest feel like “filler” matches and others, like The Rock versus John Cena, the outcome is pretty much known.

I decided to re-watch older WrestleMania and see what matches stood out, in my opinion. I started with WrestleMania 17.

Here are my thoughts on my favorite matches from the some older WrestleManias.

 —–

WrestleMania 17 (Arguably the best WrestleMania)

TLC II: Innovative. Show stealer with great spots.

Undertaker vs. Triple H: Great match from both. It would be the start of a trilogy of awesome matches.

The Rock vs. Stone Cold: Great build up, match delivered. Maybe my favorite WM match, ever.

WrestleMania 18

Undertaker vs. Ric Flair: Surprisingly good.

The Rock vs. Hollywood Hulk Hogan: WOW. Rollercoaster of emotions, the crowd was awesome and made the match better.

WrestleMania 21

Money In The Bank: First one and the start of great concept.

Undertaker vs. Randy Orton: Awesome match, love the RKO counter.

Kurt Angle vs. Shawn Michaels: Two wrestlers that stole the show.

WrestleMania 24

Money In The Bank: Amazing.

Shawn Michaels vs. Ric Flair: Great storytelling, Flair went out with one hell of a match. A rollercoaster of emotions.

Edge vs. Undertaker: Good match.

WrestleMania 25

Money In The Bank: Amazing, great spots. I wished Christian had won.

Matt Hardy vs. Jeff Hardy: Great match by the two brothers. The definitely kept it extreme as their motto says.

Undertaker vs. Shawn Michaels: Match of the night/year. Rollercoaster.

WrestleMania 26

Rey Mysterio vs. CM Punk: Good match between the two.

Money In The Bank: Good match; Christian should’ve won, again.

Undertaker vs. Shawn Michaels: I didn’t think they could top their previous WrestleMania match but they did. Shawn went out as one of the greatest wrestlers/performers/entertainers ever.

WrestleMania 27

Rey Mysterio vs. Cody Rhodes: Good match, I’m glad Cody won.

Randy Orton vs. CM Punk: Good match, great finish. *pose*

Undertaker vs. Triple H: Great match.

WrestleMania 28

Undertaker vs. Triple H: Great match, great storytelling. The addition of HBK was great because he fit perfectly into the match. I have to admit, I was scared for a minute that ‘taker would lose after the super kick and Pedigree. ROLLERCOASTER match, back and forth, you didn’t know what way it would go, great ending too.

CM Punk vs. Chris Jericho: Two of the best in the world, good match.

The Rock vs. John Cena: I was surprised they let Rocky win.

Hopefully this year’s WrestleMania has at least one memorable moment/match. All bets are on CM Punk and Undertaker to have the best match and it should but I wonder what is going to happen on the rest of the card.

One thought on “WrestleMania Time!”

Leave a Reply

