When I Started Fucking With Future

IMG_1154

I can finally and honestly say this was the year I caught the Future bug. I mean I liked some of the stuff he did in the past such as guest features on Pusha T’s “Pain,” Lil’ Wayne’s “Bitches Love Me” and Young Jeezy’s “No Tears” where he handled the hooks but I never checked out his solo stuff.

Then, 56 Nights happened.

I had no intention of listening to this project. It wasn’t until I saw a tweet that said the project was dope as fuck that it caught my eye. I bite the bullet and took a listen. I’m glad I did. The project was indeed dope!

I was instantly drawn to it.

The first song that stood out was “No Compadre.” The first thing that caught my attention was that he chose the wrong word. I believe Future thought “compadre” meant to comprehend, to understand in Spanish but it actually means buddy, pal, or homie. He most likely meant “comprende” which in fact means comprehend. Someone in Future’s camp should’ve proofread or looked up the Spanish translation of the word for accuracy. Regardless of that mistake, he still made it a hot song.

As I listened to the entire mixtape, other songs started getting stuck in my head. First up were “Now” and “Purple Coming In.” Then it was “Trap N—–“ and “March Madness.” Finally, “56 Nights” did it for me.

I was hooked.

I saw the brilliance that is Future. The hard work and dedication I felt with this mixtape.

March Madness” is insane. I couldn’t stop bumping it. As much as I can’t understand the lyrics, I still try to recite the lyrics I do know. The mystery of not knowing what he’s rapping about makes it dope, as weird as that sounds.

There were a few times this year where I found myself listening to “March Madness” for an insane amount of times in a row.

Future then dropped DS2, which was dope too!

I found myself bumping the majority of the album, from “Colossal” to “Rich Sex” to “The Percocet & Stripper Joint” to “Freak Hoe” to the Drake-assisted “Where Ya At.” Future delivered another good project. I fucked with “Fuck Up Some Commas,” one of the album’s lead singles but it had already been released on last year’s Monster mixtape.

You would’ve thought Future was done. He had released the two aforementioned projects, and Beast Mode before that, in the first seven months of 2015.

But no, he wasn’t finished. Instead, he was prepping a collaboration effort with Drake.

What a Time to be Alive came out in mid-September. I was hesitant to listen to this project because of Drake. But this was the year I didn’t mind Drake on a song. So I went ahead and listened.

The effort was okay. The expectations for this album from everyone excluding me were through the roof. I didn’t know what to expect since I wasn’t waiting on this like others.

I left What a Time, and stuck with DS2 and 56 Nights. And that’s where we are. Those two are Future’s best work of the year.

And nine months later, “March Madness” is still stuck on repeat whenever it comes on.

2 thoughts on “When I Started Fucking With Future”

Leave a Reply

