Strong Arm Steady & Madlib – In Search of Stoney Jackson

stoneyjackson

Artist: Strong Arm Steady and Madlib

Album / Mixtape: In Search of Stoney Jackson

Year: 2010

Check Out: “New Love”

Why: Strong Arm Steady and Madlib were a strange pairing that made it work and delivered a banger.

All throughout, this album is a smooth and easy listen. Off the strength of this album’s greatness, I checked out SAS’s earlier projects and the next few, that’s how much I was fucking with this album.

Back in 2010, I was still not familiar with Madlib’s work. I knew of him and what he had done. We are from the same city, so of course I’m going to show love and respect, even without listening to one record.

Then, I heard he was working on this project with SAS, I knew I had to check it out.

I was still relatively new to SAS but thanks to Evidence, and Dilated Peoples, I’d become familiar with Krondon and Phil Da Agony.

I gave it a chance and that gamble paid off, as I discovered how dope this project was.

One thing that I enjoyed was that SAS showed loved to their friends and other underground rappers by putting them on the album. Guest features from Evidence, Fashawn, Planet Asia, Oh No and Talib Kweli played a factor.

From the opening song to the end, I knew this shit was dope. Phil, Krondon and Phonte rock over a smooth beat with Phonte stealing the show with his singing and rapping on “Best of Times.”

Meanwhile, the last track “Two Pistols” features all three members of SAS. Mitchy Slick provides a gangsta ass fuck hook while Phil and Krondon let us know that they can get trigger-happy.

Also, “Bark Like A Dog” is a song that gets me hype. Most of the credit should go to Krondon’s hook. It’s genius hook.

Leave a Reply

