The Throne (Jay Z and Kanye West) – Watch The Throne

wtt

Artist: The Throne (Jay Z and Kanye West)

Album / Mixtape: Watch The Throne

Year: 2011

Check Out: “The Joy”

Why: A dream collaborative project between two of the greatest hip-hip artists ever.

This album had unreal expectations. And it met them.

They delivered a great project.

Fun fact: I had tickets to go see them in L.A. but I had to cancel last minute to take an exam. I regret that ‘til this day.

I get hyped every time “Who Gon Stop Me” comes on. The song gets me pumped. I start thinking I’m unstoppable and invincible. The beat is insane. I didn’t know it heavily sampled a Flux Pavilion until a college friend hit me with that knowledge. Kanye took that already dope beat and transformed it into something doper. Their rap brags aren’t annoying but welcomed as they fit the overall song.

“The Joy” is fucking dope. I don’t think I need to say anything else. The cracking of vinyl is everything.

I recently realized how dope “Primetime” is.

The beat is dope. It has some hard drums that just knock. Additionally, it sounds like something out of the early 20th century blues genre. Not only is the beat sick, the verses aren’t that bad. Jay’s uses creative wordplay with numbers to get his point across. Ironically, only one of the two was in their prime during this album.

Leave a Reply

