“Jabroni” is Odd Yet Dope!

jabroni

This is a strange and random pairing Alchemist chose.

Migos and Mac Miller?

It just sounds odd. I know I’m not the only one who felt that way.

Regardless of what my thoughts were, once I heard it, I realized: this shit is dope!

The beat was hard as fuck. But that’s not a surprise considering this is an Alchemist production.

The opening line gets me, it’s nostalgic: “I growed up looking up to wrestling.”

AKA me.

It was into wrestling like crazy.

From the mid-90s until the early 2000s, wrestling was my shit. I even had the illegal cable box to watch all the pay-per-views. Wrestling was a huge part of my life until I abandoned it as a pre-teen. It later came back to my life, creating a full circle.

Well, this song reminded me of those days. The hook and the song title are the only references to wrestling. I thought it’d have some more.

Also, some of the things I’ve heard from Quavo recently have been ridiculously good. I’ll take it a step further and say, he had one of the better verses on Travis Scott’s Rodeo.

I then heard “Pick Up The Phone” and thought the same.

I came to the conclusion that I need to hear a solo Quavo mixtape. Don’t believe me? Check Twitter.

Overall, this song was a weird surprise and combination that worked. Alchemist is the bridge or glue that can unite opposite entities (rappers).

I should stop judging these collaborations that I think are strange because they usually end up being dope records. This song is one of them. I would never have listen to this record if it weren’t for Alchemist.

I’m glad I did because this shit was hard!

Leave a Reply

