Seven: The Best Songs of 2016

pushatclass

Another year in review in the books!

Here are the songs that I found myself constantly playing throughout the year. These were also my favorites for the year.

  1. Childish Gambino – “Red Bone”

This song came out near the end of the year. It wasn’t until I heard Joe Budden talk about this record on his podcast I’ll Name This Podcast Later that I decided to give it a listen. I was glad I listen to his recommendation.

“Red Bone” is a wonderful piece of music. It’s soulful, funky, smooth, and jazzy, a bunch of genres blended together. Gambino’s singing was the icing on the cake.

  1. DJ Khaled – “Nas Album Done” feat Nas

Nas went the fuck off. That’s all I am going to say/needs to be said.

  1. Future – “Lie To Me”

Future continues on his musical onslaught from 2015. This time he takes subliminal shots at his ex-girlfriend Ciara and her new boyfriend Russell Wilson. Future flaunts his newfound king of rap title and wealth while telling his former love and Wilson to chill. Plus, that hook is fun to recite at the top of your lungs.

  1. Travis Scott and Young Thug – “Pick Up The Phone”

This is a catchy song. This combination will have me intrigued for years to come.

  1. DJ Khaled – “Jermaine’s Interlude” feat J. Cole

Now, this, this, is the J Cole I enjoy.

Cole is letting his emotions show on the record. He’s rapping from the heart, touching on several different subjects. He gives advice to the new, up incoming, independent rappers to be aware of the traps record labels try to box them into. Additionally, he talks about the frustration with the media, who’d rather ask him about materialistic things than the real life struggles in the world. This song serves as a reminder that it could really be a cole world.

  1. Kanye West – “Wolves”

I waited over a year for this song to come out. It finally was released and I instantly fell in love. The song is dope. The first verse is great. I’ve shed tears to this verse. When he imagines what his mother would think of him at the present time, I get upset. I put myself in that situation, and think what does my mother think of me? My mind starts thinking and thinking the worst. This is usually were the tears follow. The song is real. In short, this song is beautiful.

  1. Pusha T – “Drug Dealers Anonymous” feat Jay Z

Amazing.

These two absolutely killed it. The drug raps are awesome. Jay reveals and maybe embellishes a bit of his former life, blurring the line between what is real and what isn’t. From the storefronts to the clubs to the record studios, Jay implies his drug money had a direct impact on the development of those businesses with the help of his shady accountants. The addition of the “Damn Daniel” meme is clever.

Not to be outdone, Pusha’s verse was great. The asterisk line is fucking flames.

 

Well there you have it. Those are my favorite records from this past year. Here’s to a great 2017 in music.

 

(Photo Credit: Pusha T’s Instagram)

Leave a Reply

