Evidence – The Weatherman LP: 10 Year Anniversary

Dear Evidence,

On the tenth anniversary of your debut solo album The Weatherman LP, I want to say: thank you.

This album was a great discovery by me. I was already familiar with Dilated Peoples’ work, so I decided to give your solo effort a spin.

I’m glad I did.

It was one of the best decisions—musically—I ever made.

This album was dope.

This album was banging.

This album is in my top five favorite albums ever.

The Weatherman LP came out during the second semester of my senior year of high school. It came out at a time when I was tying to figure out who I was and what I wanted to be.

That might be why I decided to listen to this album. It could of been something as simple as trying something semi-new than the norm. If not, I don’t recall at all why I checked this record out.

…but regardless I’m glad I peeped.

The album was solid straight through.

From “I Know” to “I Still Love You” the album featured a variety of songs. Some songs were historical, some were emotionally and some were just fun, rap records.

“Born in L.A.” is almost too related. As one person that grew up in Southern California, I can attest to the feeling this song overall gives off. Sick Jacken’s verse is fire. You can almost picture his neighborhood. I can because I was born in a similar place. All three rappers are from different areas of L.A. and provide different perspectives of growing up in L.A.

Then you have the cheerful and positive “Chase The Clouds Away.” Even the beat is joyful! The positivity and appreciation from Ev was welcomed. This is an instant mood changer.

His tribute to his mother on “I Still Love You” is nothing short of beautiful.

If you ever go to on of his shows, you will witness the magical influence of “Mr. Slow Flow.” The Sid Roams produced beat is bass filled that can knock your skin off. It gives you goosebumps, that’s how loud that beat is. The entire crowd unites as one as sings along with the opening verse, peaking at the “spliff” line. Amazing.

Not only was this album great, it helped introduce me to new rappers whether directly or indirectly.

On here, I was exposed to Planet Asia, Phonte, Rapper Big Pooh, Joe Scudda, Chace Infinite, Sick Jacken, Madchild and Slug – all of which are underground rappers, with some hailing from L.A.

On the contrary, since I became a huge fan of Evidence, I learned about rappers that I never would’ve checked out because of him. The Weatherman LP made me check out Chace, Planet Asia and Joe.

As I became a bigger fan, I started checking out other rappers that didn’t appear on the debut album. If you worked with Ev, there’s a 90% chance I checked out some of your music. If he mentioned your name, I gave you a shot.

Fashawn.

Krondon and Strong Arm Steady.

Blu.

Those three alone is enough. I won’t name any more. All three of those have put out dope projects that I would never have heard otherwise if it weren’t for Evidence.

This album may not be phenomenal lyrically, but to me, it was an album was at the right time in my life. It had an impact on me.

And for that I thank you Evidence, for creating this album and being a creative person that I see as inspirational.

Leave a Reply

