Best of Joe Budden vol. 3: #02 Different Love

joe113

From : Some Love Lost

Year: 2014

“You know shit about the thoughts in my head, or the strength I need daily just to get out of bed”

I slept on this record.

It took a while for me to listen to this song, and I mean really listen to it. It was then that I noticed how dope it was. When I came to that realization, I couldn’t stop playing it.

I must’ve played it roughly twenty times. In a row.

The John section of the song is something beautiful. Although John’s life is difficult, he’s living his life beautifully. He’s facing some tough hurdles but he’s not letting that affect him or his perspective on life.

“Jose” in this song takes on two meanings: one as a fan, and the other as a part of Joe.

Jose is the equivalent of Joe in Spanish.

Joe strategically personified his depression to show that it never goes away. More than ten years, after he first mentioned his depression on record, it makes an appearance here, on a record in 2014.

Even if Joe’s happy, it still lingers around. The pains of life, heartaches and breakups kick start his lingering depression and cause him to contemplate ending it all.

Also, Jose could be identified as many of Joe fans, many of which deal with issues including depression. His fans are warriors who’ve dealt with emotional and psychological things for a while and find his music therapeutic because of the connection. Fans have thanked Joe via social media and in person for saving their lives.

Although I found you late, I’m glad I found you.

Leave a Reply

